Monday, December 30, 2013

Power Laws in India

The energy sector in India is governed by various statutes, including the Electricity Act, 2003 and the Energy Conservation Act, 2001.  
In India, the first Electricity Act was enacted in 1903. Meant as a tentative measure, it was speedily replaced by the Indian Electricity Act, 1910. This 1910 Act regulated the issue of granting licenses to the  licensees, the according to sanction to persons for the generation, distribution and supply of electrical energy, the  powers  and obligations  of such  persons  and the takeover  of their  undertakings  by the  central government, the state government and the local authority. Later, in 1948, the Electricity (Supply) Act was enacted.  It  provided  a  basis for takeover  of most  undertakings  by  State  Electricity  Boards  constituted under it. The Act mainly deals with constitution, powers and functions of various bodies including   the  Central  Electricity  Authority  (CEA),  state  electricity  boards,  generating  companies,  consultative councils and local advisory committees. The National Electricity Policy and the tariff policy are prepared by the Central Government in consultation with the CEA and the state governments. These  policies  are meant to  ensure the  optimal  utilization  of resources such  as  coal,  natural  gas,  nuclear  substances  or  materials,  hydro  and renewable sources  of  energy.  The  CEA  is  also responsible  for  specifying technical standards and safety requirements for  construction and operation of plants and  transmission lines, advising the government and commissions on technical matters and other activities.  The Electricity (Supply) Act was followed by the Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act in 1998, which  mandated the creation of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC), to which was delegated  the task of setting the tariff of centrally owned or controlled generation companies. The Commission aims to promote competition, efficiency and economy in bulk power markets, improve the quality of supply, promote investments and advise government on the removal of institutional barriers to bridge the demand supply gap and thus foster the interests of consumers. The Act also mandated the creation of state electricity regulatory commissions (SERC), which were also granted powers to set tariffs. The  CERC is mainly a regulatory body, in contrast to CEA which is mainly an advisory body. However, both  CERC and SERC have certain advisory functions to foster competition, efficiency and investment. Besides the setting up of a regulatory mechanism, the function of CERC also includes adjudication of disputes among generating companies or transmission licensees. An appeal from CERC or SERC will lie with the 
Appellate Tribunal for Electricity (APTEL). APTEL has been in operation from July 21, 2005. 
The Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act was followed by the Energy Conservation Act in 2001. This 
Act mainly provided for the establishment of the Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE).  BEE was constituted to reduce the ‘energy intensity’ of the Indian economy. One of the key functions of BEE is to provide policy framework and direction to national energy efficiency and conservation efforts and programs. 
In  2003, the  Electricity Act was  enacted, which regulates  generation,  distribution, transmission  and  trading in power. It replaced the legislations that are mentioned above, such as the Indian Electricity  Act, 1910, the Electricity (Supply) Act, 1948, and the Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998. CERC has been granted its quasijudicial status under section 76 of the Electricity Act. From a regulatory point of view, CERC is a key player in the Electricity sector. CERC press releases and orders are the key to understand regulations in the Indian power sector. CERC and SERC formulate terms and conditions for the determination of tariff.

No comments:

Post a Comment